White Line Fever

Discussion in 'Adventure, Hiking, Backpacking and Travel' started by Dennis Adams, Mar 7, 2017.

1. Dennis Adams

Dennis Adams Member

I have been traveling for over 50 years. US, Canada, Mexico, Caribbean, Thailand, Indonesia, ....some trips solo, some with my family and extended family. Backpacking, boat camping, car camping, 66 Chevy Van, VW Bus, some crap holes and some five star resorts. I have White Line Fever.
    I grew up in SW MI, we have lived in SW Idaho, Gulf side of FL, and now East TN.
    Some of the travel was business and tagged with personal add ons.
    In my formative years my parents took us on a number of camping trips, hunting and fishing and I was involved with Scouting.
    I remember specifically almost to the day when I was bitten by the wanderlust bug. It was my Junior year of high school
    It was in sociology class, bored and looking at a map of the US in the back of a geography textbook....thinking....I want to travel to every state and see what it has to offer. I haven't been to Hawaii yet. Alaska summer of 2019 perhaps. Doing the research now
    ....my wife tells me Hawaii and the European River trips will have to be with my next wife. She won't do cruises.
    One of my favorite places full of diversity and things to do, is Vancouver Island! Been there five times and plan to return.
    I am now retired as of a year ago. We bought a small RV and our travels continue.. 27K miles in the last few months.

Some of these trips go back to the mid 70s. Boating and camping in Michigan, living and backpacking in Idaho and traveling the PNW.

Early photos were taken with 35mm Kodak film. Mostly Ektachrome and some Kodachrome slides and then scanned and digitized years later.
    As you know, the trips change in nature over the years with jobs, family commitments, including trials and tribulations, births and deaths.

Enjoy. Comment as I post in this thread.

Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
  2. Dennis Adams

Dennis Adams Member