Fire Dept Story

Discussion in 'Wilderness and Tactical Healthcare Management' started by indulf, Dec 16, 2016.

1. indulf

indulf Member

Names / locations withheld to protect patients / comply with HIPAA

2 saturdays ago my wife called me after she left the house with our kids. She saw someone laying in the driveway of a house, pants down, not moving.

For background, I am a Firefighter in my community. My wife is as well, but not knowing the situation she didn't feel comfortable stopping alone and with our kids in the car. I grabbed my kit, my coat, my radio, and booked it to the location she noted. It was approx. 33deg F outside.

I walked up the driveway and stopped about 15' away to make sure there wasn't any danger or perhaps a crime scene I didn't want to contaminate. The patient wasn't moving, and a small dog was over there messing around, sniffing at his head. After 15-20sec of observation I saw him shiver, and without any indication of any other dangers I made my way over to him. The little dog was white, and when he turned around he looked like Cujo.. The patient had a wound on the back of his head and was bleeding. The dog had been licking it up.

I immediately got on the radio and called for the Sheriff and EMS. Checked pulse / airway. Stirred him up and realized he was incredibly, unbelievably drunk. Likely fell and hit his head while he was trying to take a leak.

Two deputies rolled up and we carried him inside the house. Turned the heat on, wrapped him up in all the blankets we could find. No more than 3min later EMS arrived, took his temperature, and he was hypothermic. EKG showed some funny business too and he won a trip to the hospital.

I found out later that upon arrival at the hospital his head was xrayed, anomalies found, and after a CT scan he was flown to another hospital for brain surgery. The fall caused a bleed and the guy may never be the same.