Biology & ecology discussion group

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stone, Mar 11, 2017.

1. Stone

Stone Member

I'm a biologist and ecologist by training. In the last 20 years, I've expanded beyond that with study and teaching about complexity or systems sciences -- a revolution in science equivalent to relativity theory and quantum physics, and a true scientific renaissance -- which includes biology and ecology (and virtually everything else).

I became a biologist starting in high school -- looking at pond water microbes under a microscope totally hooked me -- then followed it through multiple college degrees. I jumped over to ecology during my doctoral studies. I've taught it at the college level -- from cell biology to ecology -- and still do, but in the context of complexity.

Living things -- including my own life -- fascinate me. I often find myself in awe of life -- not just living things, like microbes and organisms, but the concept of life itself, which is rarely ever satisfactorily addressed in contemporary biology; it's not even in the glossary of major college/university biology books -- mainly because they don't teach biology from a complexity perspective, and the only way to really grasp what life is is from a complexity perspective. We'll get to that another time.

In this thread, I'd like to do a couple of things at least. One is to post cool videos and links to interesting articles about life, especially ones that involve complexity. Another is to discuss -- with any who are interested -- the phenomenon of life: what it is, how, etc.