Bug out or in?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bcamos, Oct 27, 2016.

1. KMCMICHAEL

KMCMICHAEL Member

A hurricane will never hit DFW. I was using a past experiences as an anology . I was a Federal Law Enforcement Agent at the time and could not leave work until authorized. I realize that I ramble, digress and oft vomit on the keyboard, but my contention is that in a large metropolitan area I believe the roads will clog within a few hours of any disaster. They often clog for no reason. You could easily sit at idle until fuel runs out and face a long walk.

2. Kylemeister

Kylemeister Member

That describes the mass evacuation scene out of Houston several years back for hurricane Rita. Inbound interstates were shut down and converted to outbound, and it was still gridlock. People running out of gas, and several folks died in the summer heat. One could have walked down the shoulder of the interstate pushing a wheelbarrow of personal effects faster than traffic was moving.

Traffic can get thoroughly jacked in both directions due to an accident. A fender-bender northbound snarls the southbound traffic thanks to the lookie-loos. If a planned mass evacuation won't work, the pandemonium of a late exit makes it far better to just stay at home.

3. AddictedToSteel

AddictedToSteel Member

That is true. I missed the part where you said you were at DFW. I got focused on the hurricane. Sorry.

4. mil spec

mil spec Member

Bug in until you have to bug out. I live in a small country town and feel safer than if I lived in a large city.

JMJ likes this.
  5. koolaidnd

koolaidnd Member

My family will hole up at our apartment until we can't any longer. Our 3 year old will make bugging out on foot a large challenge.

I need to look at getting some fuel cans to store in the garage. An extra 25 gallons would make a world of difference.

6. C99c

C99c Member

Absent some very destructive natural or chemical/nuclear type disaster in the area we're staying put.