Self Guided 10 day Caribou Hunt/ Fishing trip Brooks Range, AK

Discussion in 'Hunting and Fishing' started by karlkortemeier, Oct 22, 2016.

1. karlkortemeier

karlkortemeier Member

Here are a few pics from a recent trip my buddy and I took up in the Brooks Range Ak. We flew about 200 miles north out of Kotzebue. We both shot a caribou after a 6 mile hike out of the river drainage from our base camp. It took up about 14 hours to get the meat back to camp. We woke up the next day and floated 200 miles down the river to our pre-arranged takeout. It was physically demanding but amazing trip. I can't wait to go again. I'm working on a video, and I will post it once I'm done.

Picture heavy. This is my first time posting pics on the new site. Hopefully its not to slow.

Attached Files:

2. Espetar

Espetar Member

Wow! Those are some great photos and that looks like such an awesome trip.

Hurry up with that video!

karlkortemeier likes this.
  3. james gormley

james gormley Member

Very cool hunting trip.

4. Rook52

Rook52 Member

Nice looking bulls, and a great trip thanks for sharing

5. Mtnfolk Mike

Mtnfolk Mike Member

Wow !! Right on man. That looked like an epic trip.

6. C99c

C99c Member

Awesome trip.
    I hope to do one of these in the next couple of years. Everytime I find a partner to go they end up backing out.

A few questions for you if you don't mind:
    What caliber did you use? What scope?
    Any gear you wish you had brought or left at home?
    What were the temps?

7. R Stowe

R Stowe Moderator Staff Member

That area is on my must see list. Thanks for sharing and I'm looking forward to the video.

8. karlkortemeier

karlkortemeier Member

A good partner can make a trip like this for sure. My buddy, Erik, and I have been on a lot of hunting adventures together. It really makes a difference to have someone you can trust and has a similar temperament for the types of adventures you want to make.