My first Esee

Discussion in 'ESEE® Knives and Gear' started by Brent, Jun 11, 2018.

1. Brent

Brent Member

Several years ago I was camping with my Brother in law in the mountains and he had stopped by SMKW and bought an Esee knife and brought it to camp. He is a fire fighter and if my memory serves me correctly, he bought and izula. I just remember it being a small skeleton knife and wore it around his neck. He had said that lots if the other fireman were using them and he wanted to try them out. He is always one to buy the best quality of anything he spends his money on. That was my first ever experience with Esee.
    I’ve been carrying a Kershaw Blur for well iver 10 years now and use it heavily every single day. The lock on my Blur gave out on me a while back field dressing a big buck I had arrowed and dang near took my finger off. Wasn’t a good feeling leaving my buck lay while I went to the ER for stiches. I’ve carried that same Blur for two more years now but all along I’ve known that I wanted to move on to a fixed blade. There was one brand that just wouldn’t leave my mind - Esee.
    So my wife and I rented a cabin last week in Gatlinburg for 7 days and loaded up our three kids and their boyfrind/girlfriends and enjoyed a family vacation. While there, I read extensively on the various Esee Knives and narrowed down to a few models I thought would work well for me. We had planned to hit up SMKW on the way outta town so I knew I’d hopefully get my knife that day.
    Well it was an adventurous packed 8 days there Doing every single things the kids wanted to do (some things twice), and the boyfriends/girlfriends blew more money than they brought so we had to cover lots of their expenses too and well...There wasn’t any money left for my knife that I was so hoping for.
    But that was ok, I was at least gonna hold each model and figure out which Esee was gonna be my first one and buy it online once we returned home.