Need some turkey hunting advice

Discussion in 'Hunting and Fishing' started by IW17, Mar 24, 2017.

1. IW17

IW17 Member

Turkey hunting has never been my thing, but I'm planning on changing that this April. I'd like some advice on good calls to start with. I plan on buying them now and practicing for the next month. I'll be going with a couple guys who have a few years experience, but I'd like to have some basics down before getting into the woods.

2. Expat

Expat Expat™ Knives Staff Member

I can't give you an expert's advice, but I can give you a complete novice's advice since I went for the first time last year.

I did a lot of research and talked to a bunch of people and they recommended I try a box call first. I went with the Lynch Foolproof Turkey Call to see if it was. It has been around for 60 years and has 93 ratings on Cabela's with an average of 5 stars so other people said they liked it. There is also a ton of videos online to teach you to use this call.

I feel like I got pretty good at it. My friend who has hunted turkeys for a long time was impressed with my ability in a short time and with how loud the box call was. We called in two jakes and he shot at them but missed. I feel like it worked as well as I had any right to expect. I'll be using it again in a few weeks.

Other than that, I've got zero advice for you. I'm still a complete beginner myself.

Theodore likes this.
  3. IW17

IW17 Member

That's kinda what I was thinking. I've heard mouth calls are the most difficult to learn, but I've been calling coyotes using mouth calls for years, and really didn't find it to be very difficult. I realize the style of mouth call is different, but I also feel getting good at a call that would allow both hands to be free would definitely have its benefits.

4. Boker55

Boker55 Member

If you can avoid public land during turkey season do. I've spent a lot of time communicating with other hunters using just turkey calls...

Last edited: Mar 24, 2017