educate me about a Rhodesian ridgeback

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anomad, Oct 3, 2021.

1. anomad

anomad Member

I'm in an awkward situation. My dad's health is failing and I've been staying with him and his wife. Working from a shop attached to the house with the door open.

This is rural southeast USA and dogs sometimes end up running loose and are "neighborhood dogs". This girl and I have taken a shine to each other and she follows me everywhere. I have only facilitated it.

Anyhoo, I had mutts as a kid and labs as an adult hunter for serious work. I have been described as being "good with dogs" by others. What would providing a permanent home to this girl have in store for me?

I have no experience with the breed. But she is smart and loving. Has more killer instinct in her that she knows. Would love to explore that safely.

2. anomad

anomad Member

3. anomad

anomad Member

4. Theo

Theo Member

Sounds like she is your dog already...
    My brother had a rhodesian ridgeback,it was a fantastic dog.
    very protective and smart, tons of energy.

Bushman5, erik and anomad like this.
  5. erik

erik Member

Theo nailed it.
    Good dogs, smart, can be aggressive if not properly socialized.
    Death in smaller animals if allowed to be.
    Work with her on a leash, get her used to the other members of the family.
    Praise and treats work better than punishment.

Bushman5 and anomad like this.
  6. anomad

anomad Member

I put a collar on her yesterday. She doesn't mind at all. Introduced her to a leash this morning for a minute or so and leaving it on the floor by her bed.

Bushman5, Twoody88 and RocketmanDane like this.
  7. anomad

anomad Member

I walk twice a day for exercise. Ruby follows me along and I give her treats for obeying my commands. She still has mostly free reign but I'm closing the doors to the shop at night now. I've never had a dog adopt me. It's kind of fun.
    IMG_20211005_212329732.jpg