The Scout Rifle

Discussion in 'EXPAT Knives®' started by Expat, Sep 12, 2016.

1. Expat

Expat Expat™ Knives Staff Member

I have no experience with elk or the Nosler but I’m a huge fan of the 165 Gamekings! And the matchkings for the range.

2. JMick

JMick Member

A friend of mine's parents live near Sedalia, Missouri, and when he goes back there he swings by Sierra and picks up factory seconds. I got 400 Game Kings for $40. I can't really tell why they are seconds other than I found one with a little lead smear.
    As a quick experiment I just went out and weighed a sample of 10: 2@163.0 g, 4@164.0 g and the remaining 4 were between that.
    I haven't noticed a difference, maybe if I shot little tiny groups at 1000 yards.

The Marsh Gorilla and Rick R like this.
  3. JMick

JMick Member

Oh, I forgot, I quartered out and got the tenderloins, backstraps, neck roasts and all the other bits with my ESEE3

4. Paycheck

Paycheck Member

Just got me one, no pics yet. Gonna run it with iron sights for now. However, I do have my CZ 527 for close range, so maybe in time, I'll decide to put a scope on it.

5. JMick

JMick Member

Which one did you get?

The Marsh Gorilla likes this.
  6. Paycheck

Paycheck Member

Ruger GSR.

7. Odinborn

Odinborn Member

8. Paycheck

Paycheck Member

9. JMick

JMick Member

A Rifleman Went to War - Herbert W. McBride

I recently read Herbert W. McBride's (1873-1933) A Rifleman Went to War and recognized it later echoing in Col. Jeff Cooper's (1920-2006) works.

In TeeJaw's blog entry http://teejaw.com/herbert-w-mcbride-1873-1933/ he wrote:

In 1987 Jeff Cooper (1920-2006) had this to say about Herbert W. McBride in the prologue to a reprint of the book:

As a young marine I read McBride carefully and enthusiatically, and I learned more about my business from his work than from any other single source. I hope it is not true that I got all my ideas about fighting from him, as has been suggested, but I certainly got of lot of them.